Our Staff


Reverend Robert McDowell is the new pastor at Athens First UMC.

Rev. Robert McDowell
Senior Pastor

robert@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 15

Before his appointment at First United Methodist Church in Athens (June 2015), Robert also served churches in Lancaster, Xenia, Toledo, Findlay, Quincy, and Lima. Originally from southeastern, Pennsylvania, Robert moved to Ohio in 1985 to attend United Theological Seminary in Dayton and during this time decided to become a member of the West Ohio Conference. Robert is married to Penny and they have two grown children. Robert’s life mission is to joyfully live out the good news of Jesus Christ through word and deed so that his family, his church, and his community will know and embrace God’s hope and promises for their daily living.

Robert also regularly writes about matters of faith and Methodism at his blog: Nikos!


Ministry Staff

Rick Seiter

Rick Seiter
Director of Congregational Care

rick@firstumcathens.org

(740) 593-3977 ext. 16

Music Staff

Dr.-Jarjisian

Peter Jarjisian
Director of Music Ministries
jarjisia@ohio.edu

Kevin Dael

Kevin Dael
Director of Bell Choir Ministry
daelk@ohio.edu

allene-kilgore

Allene Kilgore
Guest Relations Coordinator for
Monday Lunch Ministry
k.allenekilgore@gmail.com

Jeff Daubenmire

Jeff Daubenmire
Associate Director of Music Ministries
jeffdaubenmire@gmail.com

Tom Murray

Tom Murray
Director of Monday Lunch Ministry
mondaylunch@firstumcathens.org

kamile

Kamile Geist
Director of Holy Hands Puppeteers

kamilegeist@me.com

Kathy Mangen
Director of Growing Tree Preschool
and Christian Education
kathy@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext 14


Support Staff

Jan Miller-Fox                                                                                                             Office Manager

jan@firstumcathens.org

740-593-3977 ex 10

 Dan Smith

Dan Smith

Treasurer
dan.smith@ponymail.com

Carly Reese, Nursery Attendant

Natalia Parkinson, Nursery Attendant

kristen-kerwin

Kristin Kerwin
Event Host & Wedding Coordinator
kikikerwin@yahoo.com

denise

Denise Davis
Finance Manager
denise@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 28

Mindy Dohlman

Mindy Dolman
Custodian


Growing Tree Preschool Staff

Kathy Mangen
Director of Growing Tree Preschool and
Christian Education; Preschool Teacher
kathy@firstumcathens.org

Cathy Bigger

Cathy Bigger
Music Teacher
bigger@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 14

Angela_Strycker

Angela Strycker
Preschool Teacher
angela@firstumcathens.org

Kaitlyn Drake
Preschool Teacher


Lay Ministry Leaders

avatar

Skip Billups
Usher Coordinator

avatar

Jed and Vicki Butcher
Prayer Ministry Coordinators

Jean-Marie Cackowski-Campbell
Athens County Food Pantry Liaison

avatar

Bonita Maze
UMW Chairperson
bjm7073@gmail.com

murray_deb

Deb Murray
Acolyte Coordinator
murrayd1@ohio.edu

avatar

Barb Dingle
Bereavement Coordinator
bjdingle@gmail.com

ken

Ken Edwards
Missions Ministry Coordinator
LMNO@LMNOeng.com

avatar

Barb Taylor
Home Visitation Coordinator

avatar

Brandon Saunders
IT/Sound Director
brandon.saunders@bcsengineering.com