Our Staff


Reverend Robert McDowell is the new pastor at Athens First UMC.

Rev. Robert McDowell
Senior Pastor

robert@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 15

Before his appointment at First United Methodist Church in Athens (June 2015), Robert also served churches in Lancaster, Xenia, Toledo, Findlay, Quincy, and Lima. Originally from southeastern, Pennsylvania, Robert moved to Ohio in 1985 to attend United Theological Seminary in Dayton and during this time decided to become a member of the West Ohio Conference. Robert is married to Penny and they have two grown children. Robert’s life mission is to joyfully live out the good news of Jesus Christ through word and deed so that his family, his church, and his community will know and embrace God’s hope and promises for their daily living.

Robert also regularly writes about matters of faith and Methodism at his blog: Nikos!


Ministry Staff

Rick Seiter

 

Rick Seiter
Director of Youth & Adult Ministries
and Congregational Care

rick@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 16

Dr.-Jarjisian

Peter Jarjisian
Director of Music Ministries
jarjisia@ohio.eduavatar

Wendy Merb-Brown
College Ministry Coordinator
merb@firstumcathens.orgKevin Dael

Kevin Dael
Director of Bell Choir Ministry
daelk@ohio.edu

allene-kilgore

 

Allene Kilgore
Guest Relations Coordinator for
Monday Lunch Ministry

k.allenekilgore@gmail.com

Jeff Daubenmire

 

Jeff Daubenmire
Associate Director of Music Ministries

jeffdaubenmire@gmail.com

20150523_164633_6_bestshot

 

Holly Murphy
Director of Children’s Ministry

holly@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 17

avatar

Logan Waldie
Outreach Ministry Coordinator
logan@firstumcathens.orgTom Murray

Tom Murray
Director of Monday Lunch Ministry
mondaylunch@firstumcathens.org

 

kamile

Kamile Geist
Director of Holy Hands Puppeteers

kamilegeist@me.com


 Support Staff

 

Jenaye Hill
Communications & Office Manager

jenaye@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 10
Dan Smith

Dan Smith
Treasurer
dan.smith@ponymail.com

 

Todd Bradford

Director of Building Maintenance

todd@firstumcathens.org

claire-hutchins

 

Claire Hutchins
Nursery Attendant

rh348113@ohio.edu

kristen-kerwin

 

Kristin Kerwin
Event Host & Wedding Coordinator

kikikerwin@yahoo.com

denise

 

Denise Davis
Finance Manager

denise@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 28

Mindy Dohlman

Mindy Dohlman
Custodian

amanda-tier

 

Amanda Tier
Nursery Attendant

at176813@ohio.edu


Growing Tree Preschool Staff

Cathy Bigger

 

Cathy Bigger
Director & Teacher

bigger@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 14
Angela_Strycker

 

Angela Strycker
Teacher

angela@firstumcathens.org

FB_IMG_1467558611403

 

Laura Calentine
Teacher


Lay Ministry Leaders

avatar

Skip Billups
Usher Coordinatoravatar

Ben Stoltzfus
Prayer Ministry Coordinator
prayer@firstumcathens.orgavatar

Jean-Marie Cackowski-Campbell
Telecare Ministry Coordinatoravatar

Bonita Maze
UMW Chairperson
bjm7073@gmail.commurray_deb

Deb Murray
Acolyte Coordinator
murrayd1@ohio.eduavatar

Mike Bila
Athens County Food Pantry Liaison
mtb57@yahoo.comavatar

Lorraine Myers
Liturgical Arts Coordinatorken

Ken Edwards
Missions Ministry Coordinator
LMNO@LMNOeng.com5692427010011D

Sharon Stoltzfus
Stephen Ministry Coordinator
stoltzfus1950@gmail.comavatar

Barb Taylor
Home Visitation Coordinatoravatar

Brandon Saunders
IT/Sound Director
brandon.saunders@bcsengineering.com
Open Positions
Bereavement Hospitality Coordinator
Altar Guild/Communion Coordinator
Nursery Attendant