Our Staff


Reverend Robert McDowell is the new pastor at Athens First UMC.

Rev. Robert McDowell
Senior Pastor

robert@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 15

Before his appointment at First United Methodist Church in Athens (June 2015), Robert also served churches in Lancaster, Xenia, Toledo, Findlay, Quincy, and Lima. Originally from southeastern, Pennsylvania, Robert moved to Ohio in 1985 to attend United Theological Seminary in Dayton and during this time decided to become a member of the West Ohio Conference. Robert is married to Penny and they have two grown children. Robert’s life mission is to joyfully live out the good news of Jesus Christ through word and deed so that his family, his church, and his community will know and embrace God’s hope and promises for their daily living.

Robert also regularly writes about matters of faith and Methodism at his blog: Nikos!


Ministry Staff

Rick Seiter

Rick Seiter
Director of Congregational Care
rick@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 16

Kathy Mangen
Director of Growing Tree Preschool
and Christian Education
kathy@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext 14


Music Staff

Bradley M. Naylor
Director of Music Ministries
bmnaylor@gmail.com

Jeff Daubenmire
Associate Director of Music Ministries
jeffdaubenmire@gmail.com

Kevin Dael
Director of Bell Choir Ministry
daelk1@gmail.com


Monday Lunch Staff

Tom Murray

Tom Murray
Director of Monday Lunch Ministry
mondaylunch@firstumcathens.org

Allene Kilgore
Guest Relations Coordinator for
Monday Lunch Ministry
k.allenekilgore127@gmail.com

Ronda Clark
Monday Lunch Assistant Coordinator
ronda@firstumcathens.org


Support Staff

Dan Smith

Dan Smith
Treasurer
retired.dan@gmail.com

denise

Denise Davis
Director of Finance
denise@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 28

Chrissa Somerset
Office Manager
chrissa@firstumcathens.org
740-593-3977 ext. 1

Mindy Dohlman

Mindy Dolman
Custodian

kristen-kerwin

Kristin Kerwin
Event Host & Wedding Coordinator
kerwink@ohio.edu

avatar

TBA, Nursery Attendant

avatar

TBA, Nursery Attendant


Growing Tree Preschool Staff

Kathy Mangen
Director of Growing Tree Preschool and
Christian Education; Preschool Teacher
kathy@firstumcathens.org

Cathy Bigger

Cathy Bigger
Music Teacher
bigger@firstumcathens.org
(740) 593-3977 ext. 14

Angela_Strycker

Angela Strycker
Preschool Teacher
angela@firstumcathens.org

avatar

Laurel Parker Preschool Teacher


Lay Ministry Leaders

avatar

Skip Billups
Usher Coordinator

Jed and Vicki Butcher
Prayer Ministry Coordinators

Jean-Marie Cackowski
Athens County Food Pantry Liaison

avatar

Bonita Maze
UMW Chairperson
bjm7073@gmail.com

Erin Shultz
Acolyte Coordinator

avatar

Barb Dingle
Bereavement Coordinator
bjdingle@gmail.com

ken

Ken Edwards
Missions Ministry Coordinator
LMNO@LMNOeng.com

avatar

Brandon Saunders
IT/Sound Director
brandon.saunders@bcsengineering.com